Ensemble Sirius is a Nordic Quintet consisting of five promising young musicians hailing from Denmark, Faroe Islands, and Germany. Gathered in Aarhus by their common interest in modern music, the ensemble aims to promote new interest and awareness in contemporary Nordic music.

Comprising of Trumpet, Saxophone, Double bass, Piano and Percussion, this unique arrangement of instruments combines the strength and idiosyncrasies from each instrumental groups. This collection of instruments not only allows composers and arrangers to experiment and transform how music is experienced and created, it also permit composers to freely explore different possibilities in playing with sounds, effects, timbre and styles.

Throughout projects across the Nordic regions, the ensemble seeks to become a platform to help cultivate cultural and artistic identities with its colleagues and audiences. Ensemble Sirius aims to work and develop alongside artists of our time, continuously develop, disseminate, and challenge Nordic contemporary music, thus creating a symbiotic relationship between musicians, composers, and our audiences.

In 2019 two new members have joined the ensemble: Ernst Remmel on trumpet and Mathilde Qvist on bas. We are grateful for the collaboration we had with former members Sofie Brems Sørensen and Agnes Holmberg Lundevall.

The members are:

  • Ernst Remmel (trumpet)
  • Kristina Thede Johansen (saxophone)
  • Mathilde Qvist (double bas)
  • Frieda Funk (piano)
  • Ninna Morsing (percussion)

You can follow us on Facebook

You can hear us on Soundcloud

You can see us on YouTube